U.S. Senators for Alaska to be Honored with Admiral James D. Watkins Award

2016-06-28T19:39:08+00:00 March 1, 2013|

OceanLeadershipLogoCS2Award Presentation at the Annual Consortium for Ocean Leadership Public Policy Forum 

WHO:  The Consortium for Ocean Leadership is hosting a Public Policy Forum on Economies of a Changing Ocean where they will award Senator Lisa Murkowski (R – AK) and Senator Mark Begich (D – AK) with the Admiral James D. Watkins Congressional Leadership Award.

WHAT:  Each year, the Consortium for Ocean Leadership hosts a day-long public meeting that facilitates ocean policy discussions with representatives from Congress, the federal agencies, industry and the academic research community.  It provides an unprecedented opportunity for collaboration and discussions on issues of national importance to the ocean advocacy community.

During this year’s Forum, Senators Murkowski and Begich will be presented with the Admiral James D. Watkins Congressional Leadership Award in recognition of their dedication to the oceans and ocean science.  Both Senators are founding members of the Senate Oceans Caucus.   

Senator Murkowski, the Republican Chair of the Senate Oceans Caucus, is one of the foremost experts on energy policy as Ranking Member on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.  She advances federal investments in ocean science through her seat on the Senate Commerce, Justice, and Science Appropriations Subcommittee; and introduces important legislation to support ocean observations, including the Arctic Research, Monitoring, and Observing Act of 2012. 

Senator Begich is the Chairman of the Senate Commerce Subcommittee on Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries and Coast Guard, where he has made investment in ocean science a priority through his leadership.  He also introduced important legislation to support ocean observations, most notably the Arctic Research, Monitoring, and Observing Act of 2013.

 There will also be a series of speakers and roundtables at this year’s Public Policy Forum.  The topics discussed will include the economic impacts and science requirements for mitigating coastal inundation, the transforming Arctic and ocean acidification.  For a detailed agenda, click here. 

WHEN:  Wednesday, March 6, 2013

–     Entire Public Policy Forum:  9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST

–     Senator Murkowski award presentation:  1:15 p.m. EST

–     Senator Begich award presentation:  3:45 p.m. EST

WHERE:  The Forum and award presentations will take place at the Reserve Officers Association Building, third floor (1 Constitution Ave NE, Washington, DC 20002). 

WHY:   This distinguished and meritorious award is named after Admiral James D. Watkins (1927-2012), who dedicated his life to public service with extraordinary influence on the marine science community and ocean policy.  Watkins chaired the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy (2001-2004), served as the Chief of Naval Operations (1980-1986), Secretary of Energy (1989-1993), President of the Joint Oceanographic Institutions (JOI) (1993-2000), founding President of the Consortium for Ocean Research and Education (CORE) (1994-2001), and established the National Ocean Science Bowl competition in 1998. 

The James D. Watkins Award is presented only when the highest standard of merit has been proven and recognizes those who have distinguished themselves as champions of ocean science through sponsorship of legislation, development of sound ocean policy, or promoting federal investment to advance the field of oceanography. 

The Watkins Award is conveyed by the Consortium for Ocean Leadership; a Washington-DC based nonprofit organization that represents more than 100 of the nation’s leading public and private ocean research and education institutions, aquaria and industry.  The Consortium for Ocean Leadership was established in 2007 through the merger of JOI and CORE, with the mission to shape the future of ocean science and technology through research, education and sound ocean policy.

RSVP:   kkracke@oceanleadership.org


Media Contact:                                                                

Kristin Kracke
Consortium for Ocean Leadership