Program Update: National Ocean Sciences Bowl – April 2015

2016-06-28T19:24:45+00:00 May 1, 2015|


Returning champions Boise High School from Boise, Idaho won the 18th Annual National Ocean Sciences Bowl® (NOSB) Final, held April 23-26, 2015 at the Ocean Springs High School in Ocean Springs, Mississippi and hosted by the University of Southern Mississippi’s Gulf Coast Research Laboratory. 

The top eight teams at the Finals Competition were:

1st Place  – Boise High School – Boise, Idaho

2nd Place – Dexter – Dexter, Michigan

3rd Place – Marshfield High School – Marshfield, Wisconsin

4th Place – Mission San Jose High School – Fremont, California

5th Place – Mount Sinai High School – Mount Sinai, New York

6th Place – Lexington High School – Lexington, Massachusetts

7th Place – Chaparral Star Academy – Austin, Texas

8th Place – Arcadia High School – Arcadia, California

For a full list of the 2015 NOSB Finals participants, click here

In addition to the Competition, the students participated in a number of hands-on, science activities, including a career mentoring event with leaders in the science field; a talk with Dr. Vernon Asper, a professor at the University of Southern Mississippi, on his scientific work in the Gulf after the Deepwater Horizon oil spill; a dinner at the Maritime & Seafood Industry Museum; and multiple fieldtrips, including a tour of the Point Sur research vessel, trips to West Ship Island and Horn Island, a Pascagoula River tour, and visits to Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Stennis Space Center & Infinity Science Center.

During the Finals, students also took part in an Instagram photo challenge, posting photos of their field trips and Finals activities. Each day a winner was chosen and presented a book to help them with their ocean studies. To view these photos of the weekend taken by NOSB students, as well as photos by coaches, Regional Coordinators and staff, search for #NOSBRocks on Instagram!

Other winners were also named at the annual Finals Competition, including the James D. Watkins Sportsmanship Award winner.  Sanger High School of Sanger, Texas won the Sportsmanship Award, which is voted upon by the volunteers for demonstrating the best sportsmanship throughout the weekend-long competition.

The first and second place teams received all-expense paid awards trips to Juneau and Sitka, Alaska and Corpus Christi and Port Aransas, Texas respectively, to conduct scientific research with local field experts. The third place team received GoPro video cameras for each team member and the coach to capture and share their scientific explorations. The other top teams received Amazon gift cards for marine science textbooks. The Sportsmanship winner also received a gift card as well as the same buzzer system used in the Competition.

The 2015 national NOSB program is made possible through the following sponsors:

  • Office of Naval Research
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Wendy & Eric Schmidt
  • Deerbrook Charitable Trust
  • G. Unger Vetlesen Foundation
  • IEEE Ocean Engineering Society
  • Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative
  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Shell
  • University of Southern Mississippi
  • Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
  • The Curtis & Edith Munson Foundation
  • Khaled bin Sultan Living Oceans Foundation
  • Wells Fargo
  • Wyland Foundation
  • American Meteorological Society
  • National Marine Educators Association
  • Gulf of Mexico University Research Collaborative
  • Marine Technology Society Gulf Coast Section
  • Mississippi-Alabama Sea Grant
  • Texas Sea Grant
  • Louisiana Sea Grant
  • Leave Only Bubbles
  • Maritime & Seafood Industry Museum
  • Southern Association of Marine Educators
  • Mississippi Power
  • Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation
  • Russell B. Dobbyn & Puzzles USA
  • From the Bow Seat
  • Dauphin Island Sea Lab
  • University of Chicago Press
  • Harvard University Press
  • Earth2Ocean
  • Ocean Springs School District
  • Smoothie King
  • Little Caesars