Program Update: Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative – October 2014

2016-06-28T19:29:31+00:00 October 31, 2014|

GRI Logo

The Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative (GoMRI) Research Board met at the end of October to make their final decision on RFP-IV awardees.  The new consortia awards for 2015-2017 will be announced on November 14th with an intended start date early in 2015.  The next RFP, for Individual Investigators or Small Collaborative Teams for 2016-2018, will be released in mid-November 2014.  You can find more information on RFP-V here.

The GoMRI collaboration with the Smithsonian Ocean Portal has resulted in a new interactive info-graphic, “Anatomy of an Oil Spill: Science from the Gulf of Mexico.”  The graphic explains the cause and magnitude of the spill, follows the path of the spilled oil, explores the clean-up methods and dispersant technology, and shows the various ways it has affected Gulf ecosystems and wildlife.

Plans for the 2015 Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill and Ecosystem Science Conference continue to move forward.  Abstract review is currently taking place and acceptance notifications will be sent out in early November.   Early Registration closes December 5th.  The full conference schedule will be available in November. Stay up to date on conference activities by visiting the conference website, following us on Twitter (#gulfscienceconference) and liking us on Facebook.

Finally, several members of the GoMRI management team will be attending this year’s 142nd Annual Meeting and Expo for the American Public Health Association in New Orleans on November 15-19th.  GoMRI will be hosting an informational booth, #724, throughout the conference, so stop by if you plan to attend.  In addition, Chuck Wilson the Chief Scientific Officer of GoMRI and Mike Carron, the Program Director of GoMRI, are both presenting on November 18th as part of a session organized by NIEHS: “When place matters: investments in science benefit community resilience, public health and sustainability on the US Gulf Coast.” Other presenters during the session include Dr. Bernard Goldstein, Linda Birnaum (NIEHS), Chris Elfring (NAS) and Dr. Maureen Lichtveld.