President Obama Announces Intent To Appoint New Board Members To The NSB

2016-11-01T09:34:02+00:00 November 1, 2016|
National Science Board sets priorities for the National Science Foundation (Credit: NSF)

(Click to enlarge) National Science Board sets priorities for the National Science Foundation (Credit: NSF)

The White House announced that President Barack Obama intends to appoint W. Kent Fuchs, Victor R. McCrary, Emilio F. Moran, and Julia M. Phillips to the National Science Board (NSB, Board).

 “I am thrilled to welcome this diverse and accomplished group of individuals to the Board,” said Maria Zuber, NSB chair. “The breadth and variety of knowledge and expertise in this class is more than we could have asked for. I am confident that their collective expertise across the natural and social sciences, and their management experiences, will allow us to accomplish many great things.”

 “I’m excited about the ideas and fresh perspective our new Board members will bring as we continue to push the frontiers of science and innovation,” said France Córdova, director of the National Science Foundation (NSF).

(From NSF) — W. Kent Fuchs is President of the University of Florida. Previously, Dr. Fuchs was provost at Cornell University, where he led the creation of a new technology campus in New York City. He also served as Cornell’s Joseph Silbert Dean of Engineering. Dr. Fuchs is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and the Association for Computing Machinery. He has received numerous awards for teaching and research.

Victor R. McCrary is Vice President for Research and Economic Development at Morgan State University. Dr. McCrary was the Business Area Executive for Science & Technology at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, where he managed technology investment strategies for over $60 million for internal research and development (IRAD) projects targeted to the areas of national defense and national security. Dr. McCrary was also a division chief at the National Institute of Standards and Technology where he received the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Gold Medal for facilitating and developing the first global industry standard for e-books. He has published over 60 articles and is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society.

Emilio F. Moran is the John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor at the Center for Global Change and Earth Observations at Michigan State University. He is also a Research Professor at the University of Maryland’s Population Research Center. He brings experience as a NSF grantee in cultural anthropology, geography, ecosystem science, and other disciplines. He provides an important interface with the physical and biological sciences through his research on human interactions with the environment under conditions of change. Dr. Moran has published over 200 articles, 11 books and 15 edited volumes. He was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2010.

Julia M. Phillips is Director Emeritus at Sandia National Laboratories. As Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, she managed the Laboratory’s $160 million Laboratory Directed Research and Development Program. She was also responsible for research strategy development, implementation, and intellectual property protection and deployment. Dr. Phillips came to Sandia in 1995 after spending 14 years as technical staff and a manager at AT&T Bell Laboratories. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The White House also reappointed Arthur Bienenstock, W. Carl Lineberger, and Anneila Sargent to each serve a second six-year term. Dr. Bienenstock, Professor Emeritus of Photon Science at Stanford University, has led the Board’s initiatives on reducing administrative burdens on federally funded researchers. Dr. Lineberger, E. U. Condon Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at the University of Colorado, and Dr. Sargent, Ira S. Bowen Professor of Astronomy at the California Institute of Technology, have both played key roles in NSB’s oversight and guidance of major NSF facilities and programs.

Read the full article here